Second Win of the Year for Solari

February 10th 2024, Words by Danny Krueger; Photos by James & Jared Murphy, Thomas Levister, Chris Cox, and Trevor Doyle

The Prairie Dirt Showdown at Fairbury did not disappoint as race fans received an action packed night from beginning to end. The night ended with National series points leader James Murphy on the wrecker and Patrick Solari with the race win. Chris Cox, points leader of the current LoO IMCA Style Modified 2024 Season B finishes 2nd, and Trevor Williams in 3rd.

With Trevor Williams winning quick time in qualifying, he would start pole in heat #1 with Chris Cox on his outside. Chris Cox would pick up the win with Jared Murphy 2nd, Patrick Solari 3rd, and Trevor Williams would fall back to 4th.

Heat two would have Mitchell Maynard on the pole after an impressive lap in qualifying. By lap 2, James Murphy would take the lead. On lap 4, Trevor Doyle made contact with AJ Hunsinger causing Hunsinger to spin up the track, right in front of Matt Pridgen and Thomas Levister.

Chris Cox and James Murphy would lead the field to the green flag in the feature event. Cox would lead the first 9 laps before the first caution would wave. Owen Clark in the #23 car, was running the high line in turns 1 and 2 when he got loose and spun down the track directly in front of Matt Pridgen. Pridgen had nowhere to go and made heavy contact with Clark. This then caused Pridgen to spin and Christian White made hard contact with Pridgen’s #1 car. Both White and Pridgen would head to the pits for some repairs.

Green flag back out and the leaders wrecked going into turn one. The contact entering turn one sent both cars up into the outside retaining wall. James Murphy would suffer unrepairable damage and would not be able to return to the track. Chris Cox was able to continue on.

Chris Cox would retain the lead and on the next restart, would pull away to a comfortable lead as the rest of the field race 2, 3, and even 4 wide for position behind the leader. On lap 25, Trevor Doyle would come from the top side of the track in turns 3 and 4 and shoot down low. Mitch Maynard was running low and Doyle was not aware of that and made contact with Maynard. Maynard would spin and bring out a caution.

Lap 27 restart, Cox chose the outside line and Patrick Solari threw a slide job entering turn 1. Cox would cross Solari over on corner exit and resume the lead. This hard racing continued on for several laps but allowed Jared Murphy, running in 3rd, close in on the two race leaders. Murphy was able to make the high line work and drive right around the both of them.

Another caution would come out on lap 30 as Pridgen and White got into each other off of turn 2 causing White to spin and Doyle would also get caught up in the incident.

1 lap after the next restart, Solari would roll past Murphy on the top side but the two drivers made contact entering turn 3 resulted in Murphy spinning and another yellow flag would wave.

Green flag back out and it was Solari and Cox battling for the lead once again. On lap 34, Mitchell Maynard would come up off the bottom of the track on corner exit of turn 4 and slide right up in front of Jared Murphy. Maynard would get turned into the wall causing his #69 machine to roll several times. Maynard’s night would end here.

On lap 37, Hunsinger was battling 3 wide in the middle for the 3rd position after starting deep in the field. Owen Clark was the car above Hunsinger and Clark got loose off of turn 2, and spun into the right rear of Hunsinger. Somehow, Hunsinger kept the car together enough to not make any major contact with the wall. Hunsinger was able to gather it back up for a 5th place finish.

After 40 laps, it was Patrick Solari that got the best of the battle between himself and Chris Cox after the two of them battled all the way to the finish. Cox would finish close behind in 2nd, Trevor Williams 3rd, Thomas Levister 4th, and Hunsinger in 5th.


LoO IMCA Style Modified Season B Points Standings

LoO IMCA Style Modified National Series Points Standings

Leave a Reply


Popular Posts

  • Griggs takes gold in micro madness classic with teammate whiteman in tow
    Griggs takes gold in micro madness classic with teammate whiteman in tow

    The evening of Saturday, April 6th was not an uneventful one, as 12 drivers loaded into the iRacing simulator to race for the opportunity to win a free oval car scheme of their choice, designed by Five-Six Graphics. With over 20 registrations for the event, it was certainly a shock to see such a small…

  • James Murphy, Eye on the Stock Car Season B Title
    James Murphy, Eye on the Stock Car Season B Title

    March 31st 2024, Words by Danny Krueger; Photos by Jared Murphy The LoO IMCA Style Stock Car Series came to Knoxville Raceway this Sunday night. James Murphy, dominated the whole night. With just one more race remaining in the 2024 Season B, James has a 22 point lead over brother Jared. 13 drivers took the…

  • James Murphy, Wins the Big DIamond Classic
    James Murphy, Wins the Big DIamond Classic

    March 24th 2024, Words by Danny Krueger; Photos by AS Photography, James & Jared Murphy, Thomas Levister James Murphy, made his way back to his winning ways as he won at Lucas Oil Speedway in the LoO IMCA Modified Series. His last win came back on March 13th at Cedar Lake in the QuickTime Promotions…